Thursday, May 28, 2009

Doctor My Eyes Have Seen The Years...


This was in an e-mail from my friend Mary. I elect this Dr. as the official Dr. of the Anger Management Girls. Some of us are getting up there in age ya know!

Q: Doctor, I've heard that cardiovascular exercise can prolong life. Is this true?

A: Your heart is only good for so many beats, and that's it... don't waste them on exercise. Everything wears out eventually. Speeding up your heart will not make you live longer; that's like saying you can extend the life of your car by driving it faster. Want to live longer? Take a nap.

Q: Should I cut down on meat and eat more fruits and vegetables?

A: You must grasp logistical efficiencies. What does a cow eat? Hay and corn. And what are these? Vegetables. So a steak is nothing more than an efficient mechanism of delivering vegetables to your system. Need grain? Eat chicken. Beef is also a good source of field grass (green leafy vegetable). And a pork chop can give you 100%of your recommended daily allowance of vegetable products.

Q: Should I reduce my alcohol intake?
A: No, not at all. Wine is made from fruit. Brandy is distilled wine, that means they take the water out of the fruity bit so you get even more of the goodness that way. Beer is also made out of grain. Bottoms up!

Q: How can I calculate my body/fat ratio?

A: Well, if you have a body and you have fat, your ratio is one to one. If you have two bodies, your ratio is two to one, etc.

Q: What are some of the advantages of participating in a regular exercise program?

A: Can't think of a single one, sorry. My philosophy is: No Pain...Good!

Q: Aren't fried foods bad for you?

A: YOU'RE NOT LISTENING!!! ..... Foods are fried these days in vegetable oil. In fact, they're permeated in it. How could getting more vegetables be bad for you?

Q: Will sit-ups help prevent me from getting a little soft around the middle?

A: Definitely not! When you exercise a muscle, it gets bigger.You should only be doing sit-ups if you want a bigger stomach.

Q: Is chocolate bad for me?

A: Are you crazy? HELLO! Cocoa beans ! Another vegetable!!! It's the best feel-good food around!

Q: Is swimming good for your figure?

A: If swimming is good for your figure, explain whales to me.

Q: Is getting in-shape important for my lifestyle?

A: Hey! 'Round' is a shape! Well, I hope this has cleared up any misconceptions you may have had about food and diets. And remember: 'Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways - Chardonnay in one hand - chocolate in the other - body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming 'WOO HOO, What a Ride'

AND.....For those of you who watch what you eat, here's the final word on nutrition and health. It's a relief to know the truth after all those conflicting nutritional studies.
1. The Japanese eat very little fat and suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans.
2. The Mexicans eat a lot of fat and suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans.
3. The Chinese drink very little red wine and suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans.
4. The Italians drink a lot of red wine and suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans.
5. The Germans drink a lot of beers and eat lots of sausages and fats and suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans.

CONCLUSION: Eat and drink what you like. Speaking English is apparently what kills you.

*Late addition that has nothing to do with anything! Woaaa, how about this? Just read this on Post Gazette web site. This is a big deal folks!
One thing, the damn skanky dirty trust fund babies/professional protesters better stay the hell out of my way!
I mean it. Someone better warn them.
Maybe a few of them will actually outgrow this thing, get a haircut, take a bath and get a job by September.
I know, I know, what can I say. I have always been a optimist. HA!
If not I'll just have to call the good Dr. mentioned above to give me some Valium while they are here. (Or maybe he should give it to them?)

Wednesday, May 27, 2009

Alone Again...... Naturally!


While I appreciate the fact that I am kid-less this week, they didn't have to take my laptop with them!!!!
They can stay up the lake all summer, just bring me my computer back. I miss my blogger peeps!

*Role reversal: Soon as I had the house to myself, I did what any 22 year old would do. I had a party!

Saturday, May 23, 2009

Smile........

So I had a great time at the Bruce concert. On the way to the Civic Arena (yes, it's still the Civic Arena) we spotted about six Penguin players walking into the concert. They were so accommodating. People were just mobbing them to get a picture and they graciously smiled and posed.
My friend and I were walking by and I wanted to get a picture. Being the great photographer I am I wanted to share with you all.

Don't you think Jordan Staal's jeans look great?

LETS GO PENS!

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Bruuuuuce!!!!!


I saw rock and roll's future tonight and its name is (STILL) Bruce Springsteen!

He was as good tonight as he was the first time I saw him. In 1973. One thing I don't understand. How come I got old and he didn't?

Thanks to my friend Andy my seats were in E2.(second row from floor in the Igloo Club).

*Pic above is taken from my cell phone.

Saturday, May 16, 2009

Praise The Lord And Pass The Ammunition

I am so sick of the protests surrounding President Obama's commencement speeches.
First Arizona. They decided not to give him an honorary degree because they feel that he hasn't done anything to earn it yet.
Oh really?
First black African American president of Harvard Law Review.
Illinois State Senator, United States Senator.
President of the United States while still in his 40's.
You get the point.
We should all be such under-achievers.

Then there's the whole Notre Dame mess. What a bunch of assholes. Look up what a catholic should be jerks. Who comes to mind? George Bush? He signed 152 death warrants before becoming president.
Though shall not kill huh?
Well.........not so fast.
Who decides what killing is a sin? Isn't killing killing period? It shouldn't matter if they are an inmate or an unborn child.

President Obama is the epitome of what we as catholics should be. If I had to choose who will have an easier time answering to God at the pearly gates. My money is going on Obama. Hands down.

Get over it people. If you are against abortion, don't have one and mind your own damn business.

While I'm at it, if you are against gay marriage. Don't marry a gay.

It's really that simple. I will live my life and answer to my God. I think he wouldn't be so gosh darn judgemental.

This all reminds me of my favorite bumper sticker. The moral right is neither moral OR right.

Just a few conclusions I've reached during my EIGHTEEN YEARS of Catholic School.
(When I was not paying attention in English Class!)
Just sayin'.

Thursday, May 14, 2009

A Complicated Relationship


I found this photo on the Post Gazette web site. The couple in the picture is my nephew, the Madonna's son, Jeffrey Andrew David and his fiance Kristy. Born and raised in the DC area, he is a die-hard Capitol fan. Kristy was born and raised in the Burg so of course she feels the same about her Penguins. They have been traveling back and forth from DC to Pittsburgh for all the games.
While walking hand in hand to tonight's game, a few DC reporters caught them and they were interviewed on a DC TV station.

Poor Jeff, we had fun with him throughout the series.
The last text messages we sent each other.
Me: Whose cryin' now?
Jeff: You are uninvited to my wedding
Me: I don't need you, Kristy will invite me!

Sorry Jeff, we still love you. You can put the Ovechkin shirt away and start wearing that Pens shirt I bought you for Christmas!

LETS GO PENS!